Texas law enforcement is very serious about car insurance. Officers use an insurance verification system that pulls data directly from the DMV which, in turn, gets its information directly from the auto insurance providers. Fake or phone insurance doesn’t work. Fines for failing to adequately insure your vehicle are expensive. A first time offense can result in a $350 fine. Second time offenders can pay up to $1,000, have their license suspended and lose their car. You can also end up paying fines over a three year period, even after getting proper insurance, so make sure you get covered, and meet all the legal requirements. Your Red Rock Insurance Agent can help.
The state of Texas mandates that every car insurance policy sold in the state must have these minimum coverages:
- $30,000/person for bodily injury
- $60,000/accident for bodily injury
- $25,000/accident for property damage
Just because the law does not require certain types of coverage, it’s still a good idea to examine all available coverage options. Personal Injury Protection covers medical expenses for you, and/or your passengers. Uninsured Motorist Protection helps cover damages done by someone who is not carrying insurance and, unfortunately, accidents by uninsured drivers happen far too often. Ask your Red Rock Insurance Agent about all your options for worry-free driving.
Texas does not require a valid driver’s license in order to acquire car insurance, so if your license is lost or stolen, or if you want to buy insurance prior to getting your license, you can. Be proactive and get yourself covered.