In the state of Missouri, you must keep some proof of insurance in your vehicle at all times. If a law enforcement officer asks for proof of insurance and you cannot show it, the officer may issue you a ticket, resulting in one of these things:

  • Four points on your driving record.
  • An order of supervision that will subject you to monitoring.
  • License suspension

Any driver whose license is suspended for failing to show proof of insurance must maintain liability insurance on his or her vehicle for a period of THREE YEARS following the end of the suspension. The driver must file proof of insurance with the Department of Revenue during the three years. If they fail to provide this proof, their driver license will be suspended again. The suspension will remain in effect for the remainder of the three years unless the driver refiles the proof of insurance. Suspensions can be as long as one year and accompanied reinstatement fees as high as $400.

Make sure you get covered, and meet all the legal requirements. Your Red Rock Insurance Agent can help.

The state of Missouri mandates that every car insurance policy sold in the state must have these minimum coverages:

Liability coverage

  • $25,000/person for bodily injury
  • $50,000/accident for bodily injury
  • $10,000/accident for property damage

Just because Missouri law does not require certain types of coverage, it’s still a good idea to examine all available coverage options. Personal Injury Protection covers medical expenses for you, and/or your passengers. Uninsured Motorist Protection helps cover damages done by someone who is not carrying insurance and, unfortunately, accidents by uninsured drivers happen far too often. Ask your Red Rock Insurance Agent about all your options for worry-free driving.

Missouri does not require a valid driver’s license in order to acquire car insurance, so if your license is lost or stolen, or if you want to buy insurance prior to getting your license, you can. Be proactive and get yourself covered.

Missouri motor vehicle owners are required to show proof of insurance when registering a vehicle and renewing their license plates.

Find a Red Rock Insurance Agent close to you by clicking here!