In the state of Kansas, the penalties for driving without adequate insurance are hefty, and punitive measures can drag out for a long time. If convicted, you must register with the Drive Control Bureau and provide SR-22 filings to provide proof of insurance for 12 months. First offender fines range from $300 to $1,000. Second offender fines (within three years of previous conviction) range from $800 to $2,500. A third conviction results in the loss of your driver’s license for three years.
Make sure you get adequate car insurance coverage, and meet all the legal requirements. Your Red Rock Insurance Agent can help.
The state of Kansas mandates that every car insurance policy sold in the state must have these minimum coverages:
- $25,000/person for bodily injury
- $50,000/accident for bodily injury
- $10,000/accident for property damage
Personal injury protection (PIP or No Fault)
- $4,500/person for medical expenses
- $900/month for one year for disability/loss of income
- $25/day for in-home services
- $2,000 for funeral, burial or cremation expense
- $4,500 for rehabilitation expense
- Survivor Benefits: Disability/loss of income up to $900/month for one year
- In-home services up to $25/day for one year
Just because Kansas law does not require certain types of coverage, it’s still a good idea to examine all available coverage options. Personal Injury Protection covers medical expenses for you, and/or your passengers. Uninsured Motorist Protection helps cover damages done by someone who is not carrying insurance and, unfortunately, accidents by uninsured drivers happen far too often. Ask your Red Rock Insurance Agent about all your options for worry-free driving.
Kansas does not require a valid driver’s license in order to acquire car insurance, so if your license is lost or stolen, or if you want to buy insurance prior to getting your license, you can. Be proactive and get yourself covered.